United Kingdom: economic history
Annual GDP growth is unavailable for 2026. Annual CPI inflation is unavailable for 2026. Missing observations are not zero or forecasts.
Latest national CPI readout
3.5% · 2026-09 · CPI year-on-year
Consumer Prices Index (CPI) · release 2026-10-21
CPI all-items annual rate, rather than CPIH (which includes owner-occupiers' housing costs and Council Tax), RPI or core CPI. September CPIH was 3.6%, a different measure.
Office for National Statistics: Consumer price inflation, UK: September 2026
Annual history
| Year | Real GDP growth | Consumer-price inflation |
|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 2.14040560033371% | 0.36804684232536% |
| 2016 | 2.20652020635357% | 1.00841736811409% |
| 2017 | 3.02322219840339% | 2.55775577557747% |
| 2018 | 1.55133095078786% | 2.29283990345937% |
| 2019 | 1.25629899760824% | 1.73810460086512% |
| 2020 | -10.047896637362% | 0.989486703772491% |
| 2021 | 8.5431118453255% | 2.51837109614213% |
| 2022 | 5.14970388522993% | 7.92204883147902% |
| 2023 | 0.271650048355255% | 6.79396706793962% |
| 2024 | 1.08027716858781% | 3.2715729463592% |
| 2025 | 1.38844207858726% | 3.88306881625999% |
| 2026 | Not reported | Not reported |
Definitions and source records
- World Bank · GDP growth (annual %)
- World Bank · Inflation, consumer prices (annual %)